Skip navigation

Hers are the first hands that held mine. As I look at her rings and the diamond she wore for more than 50 years, I tremble with the knowledge of all that her hands have done. My mother raised children, drove us back and forth to school for an hour, twice a day, every day for twelve years and gave out candies to children who came to shul. She told us to sing louder, she used her hands to point out the place in the Chumash. She showed us how to set a table and buy balloons, her hands excitedly decorated and photographed every milestone. She traveled and bought souvenirs for her children and grandchildren. She emailed stories, ideas, photos and information around the world. As a court reporter, her hands recorded the truth, the dictionary of words she created and reached for justice. Her words truly gave testament and witness to the truth.

When I was in trouble, her hands picked up the phone and held on, to hold me in her thoughts and her heart. When I was in doubt, she held my hand and gave me her perspective. She went with me to pick out a wedding gown and handled details. She held my babies, as quickly as possible after their birth, and never let go. She traveled the world and wrote it down to share with the universe.

She held my father’s hand as they walked down the aisle at grandchildrens’ weddings and hugged great grandchildren. Her hands hold our family together even when she cannot move them. She carries us with her and we hold her in the hands that she gave us: open, loving, caring, generous, and charitable. She taught us to always reach out to others and be willing to give. She gives with a warm hand, while she can see us spread our hands to her, and hold on as long as able. We hold on to her forever and always. I will reach to her when her hands can no longer touch me. The finely manicured hands look like hers. I will hold on to the memories and stories, hand them to my children and grandchildren, and reach out to her forever. But her hands, her heart, her soul, and her stories will never leave me and I want to hold on to her memory forever.

My mother established deep roots, created branches of our tree, and her memory and spirit will reach out always.

In memory of my mother BDG
10/24/42 – 4/27/13

7 Comments

  1. My heart is heavy for your grief,my friend. I’m sending Universal love.

    • Dear Itty, you have been such a lovely and supportive voice to me. Thank you for your grace.

      • I really, really like the work you do. I admire you very much. My heart breaks for your loss. I’m only 7 years younger than your mom, and can only imagine how my daughters will feel when my time comes. I know the timing isn’t optimal, but the opportunity arose that I could do something today., so in spite of your current emotions, I nominated your blog for the Super Sweet Bloggers Award. I also gave a brief review and recommendation to readers to follow you… you can check it out on my site, all the details are there. http://ittymac.wordpress.com/

  2. What a beautiful tribute.

  3. I am so flattered by the heartfelt comments. Ittymac your review is so engaging, I want to read it too! A lovely review and most meaningful during this time. My mother wrote articles and documented family journeys and generations. She gave us the gift of words and an appreciation of the written form. If I have created something enjoyable and helpful, in any way, then I am so blessed to have inherited her ability to bring the written form to life. It was a very sweet thing to do and your nomination and support is greatly appreciated.


Leave a Reply

