Skip navigation

oscar statues

I got your attention, didn’t I? That is totally awesome. Thank you for allowing me that opportunity.

By nature, people are competitive. We want the biggest billing and the brightest lights. Our actions are not merely “large”, but we want to embellish them. Our TV and entertainment draw from this: The Biggest Loser, The Amazing Race, Survivor, The Greatest Show on Earth. I saw a catalog that showed off America’s Most Beautiful Bike Ride. Is it true? Who knows, but I guess they figure that no one is going to argue with them. After all, there are a lot of bike trails and it is not worth the time or size of the legal expenses.

We don’t just want to win; we want to crush, pulverize, demolish, reduce, minimize, enslave, own, and make someone else cry like a little baby. Our egos have gone on a serious sugar rush mixed with high doses of pseudoephedrine.

I am no different; my family will not play Scrabble with me. Others like to win at Monopoly and charging someone payment on six mortgages for landing on Park Place.

While the adrenaline high is magnificent, when we are not doing something so extraordinary, like just going to work or standing in the grocery aisle, it can make our lives seem simple, boring, or uninteresting. We cannot all be adrenaline junkies; we have enough road rage and athletes on steroids.

As we try to be the biggest and the brightest, we also compare. Wait! You think you had it bad, I once broke five bones trying to tie my shoe. I walked to school, in the snow, backwards, five miles, with no shoes.

We struggle and we compare, but do we really want to be the top winner in all of our contests? Do we really want to be the sickest? Or grieve the most personal losses? Do we want the size and amount of our panic attacks to outnumber someone else?

In the race to outpace, not every competition is one I want to win. I would love to win the lottery, which is pretty much our family retirement plan. However, sometimes I crave a different pace and life in the slow lane. Not having to jump out of bed at the bleat of the alarm, staying in pajamas all day if I want to, eating chocolate rather than cooking, and reading with my magazines and books spread around me. Those are some of the delights that not chasing my tail allow me.

In the scheme of things, I would love to be the best at relaxing or letting go of the mental clutter. Let someone else crush and pulverize the Universe. Today, I just want to be the most extraordinarily peaceful self I can be and that is definitely challenging enough.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Thanks for stopping by! It means more than you know.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

7 Comments

  1. Excellent article title!!

    I wish you peace, my friend.

  2. Not only your title but the post is interesting too. Good luck

    • Hi Ryan, thanks for reading the post and having some fun with me today. Good Luck to you too!

  3. We do play scrabble with you! You are just ridiculously good and have a better vocabulary than everyone else!

    • Ok, well it is always good to know the things that I am good at. Did you like the post? Thanks for keeping up with me.

        • Alex
        • Posted July 5, 2013 at 1:34 am
        • Permalink

        Sure did! We read everything you write, and sometimes we end up discussing parts of what you write too and it makes us think…


Leave a Reply

