Skip navigation

I have been told that I am negative, don’t give myself enough credit, need to try harder, don’t cry, it is what it is.

Well, quiet acceptance has not been my way; with each loss, there have been losses! It is not purely that what does not kill you makes you stronger. Sometimes, the fact that it did not kill you is the best thing you can say about the experience. Also, the people who told me that I am negative, don’t give myself enough credit, need to try harder, don’t cry, and it is what it is, were not trying to comfort me. They did not say these things so that I would feel better. They said them at the time to prove their point of what they think I am and what they think I am not capable of. They said these things to make themselves feel better and stronger and more important. That is not comfort, nor confidence. That is arrogance.

So here is a reminder for you, and I, when the times are tough, the mood dreary, and the critics rough.

coonfronting our feelings

4 Comments

  1. Thank you! I really needed this.
    thank you.

    • If it brought you some comfort, peace or made you think you are kinder, braver or stronger than you think, I am glad!

  2. Very true.

    • Thank you so much April for understanding and taking the time to add your comment. It means a lot to me.


Leave a Reply

