Skip navigation

conceptual by sadalit

Daily Prompt: Don’t You Forget About Me

I remember working until four days before my first child was born. I had gotten a college degree, a license to sell securities, begun an M.B.A. and moved countries. All of those things occurred before I was married!

Life changed and it did not. I wanted to be a mother and could not imagine who I would have been if I had not been able to become one. However, after the rush of things to do academically and career-wise, in those early 20’s, I discovered that old habits died hard.

Right after my son was born, I remember distinctly worrying about my resume and being sure that it was up to date so I could find another job if and when I had to. Then, being the ambitious person that I was, I knew that I wanted my children to have siblings close in age. That was a legacy that my mother gifted to me. So, I thought that I could raise two babies as easily as one.

People made jokes and asked me if I “Knew how it happened” and “What about buying a TV?” But we had our million dollar family. Over the next five years, we were blessed to make it a two million dollar family.

The things I want my children to remember are not the ones that they do. Sadly, the worst moments of our lives often live longer in memory than the crazy, fun, or creative ones. As a mother, it seems that the only legacy I leave is the one viewed in my children’s’ eyes. They will share what they recall with their children and friends. That is who I will be. Whether I tried to be that person, or not, that is how I will remain.

At the end of my days though, I will know in my heart, as I do now, that I was able to give my children the legacy of family. My mother was the historian and the fun grandmother. My father is the one who earned my children’s respect and whose advice they seek. So, if I do nothing else right, I had the decency to be born to wonderful parents ~~~ who made fabulous grandparents and great grandparents!

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/16/prompt-dont-foget/
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Thanks for stopping by! It means more than you know.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

One Comment

  1. mothers always get taken for granted.. i bet your children have amazing memories that they will cherish more and more the older they get. it does seem to be the rule that grandparents gain the best place in the memory banks until one day they understand better what it is to be mother. we can only do our best and life can be so trying at times. when my daughter was home last week she and my son were talking about being punished as they grew up.. they remembered vividly the time they were on the naughty steps, supposed to be only a few minutes but i fell asleep!!! they don’t remember how horrible they had been to each other to earn that place on the steps and they don’t remember the special midweek stay up late film night surprise later on because i felt so guilty! selective memory.. this one stored away to make me feel guilty whenever they want to rub it in! lol!


5 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. By Leave It | Edward Hotspur on 17 Feb 2014 at 3:02 am

    […] Legacy Always Comes Before Motherhood ~ at least in the Dictionary | theempathyqueen […]

  2. […] Legacy Always Comes Before Motherhood ~ at least in the Dictionary | theempathyqueen […]

  3. By There Is Hidden Treasure | The Chatter Blog on 17 Feb 2014 at 2:01 pm

    […] Legacy Always Comes Before Motherhood ~ at least in the Dictionary | theempathyqueen […]

  4. […] Legacy Always Comes Before Motherhood ~ at least in the Dictionary | theempathyqueen […]

  5. […] 80. Land Of Mike 81. Leaving My Mark | Cheri Speak 82. I think about this a lot | djgarcia94 83. Legacy Always Comes Before Motherhood ~ at least in the Dictionary | theempathyqueen 84. Daily Prompt: Legacy — Gaudi Style | That Montreal Girl 85. What will you decide my legacy […]

Leave a Reply

