Skip navigation

airplane vintage photo quote

Summer travels are underway and long awaited trips and vacation days are being used. For me, vacation days are being used to see family. Gone are the days when families lived close to each other; now we use “face time” apps and email to substitute for a healthy hug and good morning smile.

As I sat in the over-packed gate at the airport, I looked around at all of the people. So many faces, hair colors, body types, dressing styles, and attitudes filled the lounge waiting to depart. In true ego fashion, we look at others and judge them, and ourselves, on an invisible sliding scale of who looks better and who is so striking that all eyes are drawn to the beautiful people.

Each plane ride is at least 140 – 150 people drawn together in a fairly small space. While people filled the aisles and looked for comfortable seats, again, I looked at the variety of faces and people as they filed onboard.
Yet each of us shares so many of the same ideals: we want to be loved, respected, admired, sexy and attractive. We want someone, or many people, to look at us and see how special we are and be drawn to our best selves.

Psychological studies show it takes 7 seconds to make a first impression. Will people look to my hair, clothing, makeup, or smile? Will they sum me up by my weight or style of shoes?

So little time to show who I am and my dreams are all up in the air.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Thanks for stopping by! It means more than you know.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

4 Comments

  1. For me, it’s the smile which reaches the eyes. That tells so much about a person, especially if they are returning one of yours.

  2. You hit the nail on the head. I had exactly the same thoughts yesterday at a baby shower I attended. I looked around at some of the other ladies there and judged (big time) but then I thought “Hang on. These ladies have been invited because they mean something to my niece.” And then I gave myself a bit of self flagellation and didn’t think that way again.

  3. Suz, I would be in trouble if people only judged me very quickly or because of my weight, etc. all the superficial stuff. Although I would not mind if they liked my eyes :-)) But that is a great way to remember that each person is special to someone else. Hope you did not hit yourself too hard!


Leave a Reply

