Skip navigation

Are we writers because we live or do we live because we are writers?

writing_tools for a blog

“We are all apprentices in a craft where no one ever becomes a master.”

– Ernest Hemingway

“And what, you ask, does writing teach us? First and foremost, it reminds us that we are alive and that it is a gift and a privilege, not a right.”

― Ray Bradbury, Zen in the Art of Writing

“There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.”

― Maya Angelou, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

“What really knocks me out is a book that, when you’re all done reading it, you wish the author that wrote it was a terrific friend of yours and you could call him up on the phone whenever you felt like it. That doesn’t happen much, though.”

― J.D. Salinger, The Catcher in the Rye

“If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.”

― Toni Morrison

“If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or the tools) to write. Simple as that.”

― Stephen King

“Lock up your libraries if you like; but there is no gate, no lock, no bolt that you can set upon the freedom of my mind.”

― Virginia Woolf, A Room of One’s Own

life lessons turn the page
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Thanks for stopping by! I hope that you enjoy your visit.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

19 Comments

  1. I absolutely love this!!!

  2. Absolutely beautiful. Thanks for sharing the thoughts of all these writers. For myself, gonna turn the page now. Have a nice day.

  3. Incredible words of wisdom and inspirational quotes!

  4. Reblogged this on An Aspiring Writer and commented:
    Incredible words of wisdom and inspirational quotes!

  5. Reblogged this on "Bethie's Place" and commented:
    This was reblogged to me from one of my followers. Thanks Retirement Lifestyle/Nomadic Adventurer! Just what I needed to read tonight!! 😀

    • Thank you so much for the reblog and I an so glad that you enjoyed these quotes!! 🙂

  6. I’m very disappointed as I can’t write, yes in one sense I can, but I’d have liked to be a writer!!!! The sentences are very good. Regards,

  7. I love the Maya Angelou quote re: bearing an untold story. So true. This is a well put together article.

    • I am so glad that you enjoyed it! Thank you for reading and adding a comment.

  8. Reblogged this on Myrealjourney and commented:
    Thanks empathy queen for reminding me

    • Thank you so very much! I appreciate the reblog and am so glad that you liked it! 🙂

      • You’re welcome, I’m looking at new inspirations, haven’t even began my 2015 blogging, im at a mess with scheds

  9. That’s a brilliant collection:)

    • Thank you so very much! Thank you for reading my post and good luck with yours. 🙂


Leave a Reply

