Skip navigation

Last Words

vulnerability

When Sir Isaac Newton died, he was humble. He said, “I don’t know what I may seem to the world. But as to myself I seem to have been only like a boy playing on the seashore and diverting myself now and then in finding a smoother pebble or a prettier shell than the ordinary, whilst the great ocean of truth lay all undiscovered before me.” **

helping_empathy words hand

If I had to share my last words on a blog, I would still continue to search for meaning and remain a life long learner. There would be less of my words but more of everyone else’s perspective. I would want to comfort others and express empathy by a touch, a smile, eye contact, a tilt of the head, or a laugh. Empathy allows us to use multiple methods of communication and expression with all of our senses, intuition, and feelings.

The spirit of caring, and energy of compassion, is a kindness that transcends words. No act of kindness is too small; no recognition and appreciation for it undeserved.

Life is a continual purpose of awareness and seeking out the meaning and depth beyond the superficiality of words. A look, a promise, a vow are lifelong pursuits that outlive the futile attempt to put our deepest thoughts and grandest intentions into words.

I would thank those who have read my blog and allowed me to share my thoughts. I have been, and continue to be, so appreciative of the comments and heartfelt thoughts and responses shared with me. Finding other like-minded people in a very large world is a treasure. I would remain an idealist and hope to find other means of expression.

Speak while you can but be sure to find ways to listen to others’ words, and therein, create relationships and memories that last with them. They can be the storytellers when we cease to speak for ourselves.

Purpose-of-life_Emerson
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Thank you for stopping by and allowing me to express myself.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

** Note: the source for most of these is the fantastic reference book Last Words of Notable People: Final Words of More than 3500 Noteworthy People Throughout History by William B. Brahms.

freshly-pressed-circle

6 Comments

  1. A very gracious ending. Nice job on the prompt! http://lilypupslife.wordpress.com/

  2. I am always so pleased when I meet other like minded Souls my friend.. and so I empathise wholly with the words in your last two paragraphs..

    “Finding other like-minded people in a very large world is a treasure. I would remain an idealist and hope to find other means of expression.

    Speak while you can but be sure to find ways to listen to others’ words, and therein, create relationships and memories that last with them. They can be the storytellers when we cease to speak for ourselves.”

    Many thanks for being here.. We need to spread Kindness and Compassion.. but remember to spare some of that caring for ourselves as we also have to remember we are worthy of being nurtured too 🙂

    Sending Love and apologies I have not been visiting as much.. But I needed some TLC ‘Tender Loving Care’ recently too 🙂
    Hugs Sue xxx ❤

  3. take good care ❤

  4. Always a pleasure to come here in a moment of calm to read insightful kind words. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

