Skip navigation

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Three Letter Words.”

tumblr_static_sky_black_and_white

April is a time of Spring, a renewal of Earth, a reminder of Spirit.

My birthday is this month as is an anniversary of my Mother’s passing.

Growing, hoping, praying, dreaming…….

Crying, rising, falling, never forgetting where we could be if a brilliant life hadn’t been shortened by a cruel disease.

My grief still stings; tears fill my eyes and fall without permission.

Forever more, knowing that I have lived another year, means remembering another year that took Mommy away.

No matter a fragile number of my years, my mother’s love reminded me that I became special to someone when brought into this world.  With my mother’s passing, I still feel bereft, forgotten, as no love could be as pure as that which my mother offered to me.

Grief takes a position at my table like a ghost; it is a guest that refuses to leave.  With me always, though never again, loss still takes my breath away.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you for stopping by! It means more than you know.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

9 Comments

  1. loss still takes my breath away.
    I love this line.

    Only those who can grieve can know love.

  2. Time of year reminders do cut us to the quick and make it harder. You are fortunate to have had such a meaningful relationship with your mother-makes it all the harder though I am sure. Hugs to you

    • Thank you Carol. I am so flattered that you liked my writing. I am supposed to be the matriarch for my family now, but Mom left footprints that I cannot fill.

  3. Anniversaries of loved ones’ deaths is particularly difficult. Hugs to you.

    • Yes, the timing is always keen in our minds. I remember the losses that occurred close together. Chag kasher v’sameach to you.

    • Thank you for your warmth and kindness.

  4. My birthday is this month also, and grief is also takes positions at my table. A mother’s love is special.

    • Yes, you have certainly had more than your fair share of losses. The ones who have not experienced them seem to be the least tolerant or comprehending of the level of grief and sadness and they’ll that it takes. Happy birthday to you!

      • Happy birthday to you!


Leave a Reply

