Skip navigation

if-your-head-tells-you-one-thing-and-your-heart-tells-you-another

Being empathetic and sensitive means we observe and consider all the time.  We absorb our environment and the energy of the places and people that we encounter.  Being so finely tuned to others’ personalities, comments, and unspoken wants and needs, we process both good and bad.

Speaking for myself, I don’t forget.  For better or worse, I have a very long memory and a strong desire for justice and honesty.  Once I have encountered someone who has lied to me, or about me, I cannot just brush it off.  I will behave honorably because that is how I choose to live my life, and in the scheme of things, I want to be better than I was yesterday and continue to learn from the lessons that life has in store for me.

The dilemma is that I can see the craving for attention, the desire to engage, insecurities, and drive in someone else, but while being attentive, I have to protect myself.  It is a delicate balance between head and heart all the time.  It is easy, as a sensitive person, to get sucked into someone else’s drama.  Because we consider people to be inherently good, and seek to empathize, it can take a long time to accept that they have betrayed us or behaved so abusively.  We could never imagine treating others like that, so when it happens to us, it can be a shock to the system. It is so different than how we want to approach the world and create positive change and lasting kindness.

life-is-a-great-balancing-act_dr-seuss

Considering each step and each word is a delicate attempt to reach for the high road.  Does it improve us, or the environment, for the better?  I will be polite and courteous hoping that the future, and I, will grow more patient, tolerant, and kind.

I continue to whisper a prayer to accept what I cannot change and change what I can accept.  

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/dilemma/

Thank you for stopping by.  I hope that you enjoy your visit.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

6 Comments

  1. Well said!

      • theempathyqueen
      • Posted September 27, 2016 at 12:36 pm
      • Permalink
      • Reply

      Thank you! I greatly appreciate your kind comment.

  2. I whisper that often too

  3. true words i have to say most of the time we choose to follow the heart which ends with people getting hurt and disillusioned


Leave a Reply

