Skip navigation

divine things more beautiful than words_walt whitman

 

I have been thinking about the idea of tentative healing since I saw it as the daily post word prompt.  Each prayer we utter, for another’s benefit, is a tentative sending of sympathetic resonance that the recipient doesn’t know about, yet we make a tiny step to create waves of hope.  People say “Give me a blessing” or “Send me a prayer.” I am not worthy of such a gift, but if my frail deeds and conscious action can make a change in the Universe to send aid, who am I to say no to such a desperate request?

Therapeutic touch is a tentative bond between patient and healer, to insert warmth and balance into the energetic space of places out of alignment.

How can I let my adult children know that I love them without inserting myself too deeply into their own daily routines?   I am so proud for them of their achievements; They have outgrown needing or wanting my pride, but I am so happy for each of the respective life changes and achievements.  The careful speech – not too pushy, not too needy, not too opinionated – is some awkward dance of toeing the line. One misstep, and I will have to begin again, to tentatively build respect and connection.

Each sound, so carefully scrutinized, is a tentative syllable hoping to send tearful and heartfelt messages within the silent spaces between words.

A whispered prayer, for those whom we know, or those whose devastation is witnessed from thousands of miles away, is our small scared effort to help another for whom the Grace of G-d is all that separates us in pain and fear.  We are human; our empathy is how we know the doubts, the shame, the stigma, and the judgment being experienced.  I send my humbled attempt at tentative healing to those who need it and think that no one can hear their own tentative prayer for help.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you for stopping by.  I hope that you enjoy your visit!

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/tentative/

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. beautiful. There is a thought that if we pray for the needs of someone else, then whatever it is that we may need in our lives will be answered.

    • We can certainly hope for such mercy as we share our prayers, now and always, for a happy and sweet new year. Prayer, Repentance and acts of charity…


Leave a Reply

