Skip navigation

Not what you expected? Not all glittery and exciting like the flash of a New Year’s Celebration? Everyone says have a happy new year. With that gracious wish is the unspoken flip side. Have a better year than the last. Things were OK, but given the chance, you might want to reach for more.

Based on the emails filling my inbox today, I should be losing weight, juicing fresh fruits and vegetables, taking vitamins, beginning graduate school, and buying fitness equipment. All of those things may be true and helpful, but it also implies that I have not reached my potential and should strive higher.

To me, that means I am being encouraged to be something I am assumed not. While it may not always come in the face to face mode, electronically it has been sent out millions of times. In bringing in a New Year, we must bid goodbye to the old one. The Yin and Yang of each New Year causes us to review the good and the bad, the black and the white, the highs and the lows, those who have passed and those who have been born. Somewhere between the extremes at each end, are billions of us who are hoping to achieve ~~~ and pray that there is more to life than this!

We do want to believe things can get better. Our human hearts, minds and emotions are subject to some denial. Obviously, the dropping of the Ball in Times Square and the fireworks around the world did not magically change everything overnight. We may have felt better with optimism, and enthusiasm, fueled with a few champagne cocktails.

Tomorrow it is back to the grindstone and the nagging questions and worries I had yesterday at 11:59 p.m.

We want that new start, the clean slate, the conviction that anything and everything is possible and headed our way. We want all that confetti to usher in something fabulous, exciting and life altering.

The hard part is recognizing it when it comes since it may occur in a plain brown wrapper on an ordinary day.Β  It may come in the simple guise of someone giving us something to think about and encouraging us to keep going because the next miracle is unseen and right around the corner.

So I offer a small token of encouragement and wish you a steady supply of more in the coming year.

Flatter me, and I may not believe you.
Criticize me, and I may not like you.
Ignore me, and I may not forgive you.
Encourage me, and I may not forget you.
– William Arthur

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Have a Happy, Kind, Compassionate, Caring & Thoughtful New Year! Thank you for stopping by! It means more than you know.

freshly-pressed-circle

15 Comments

  1. Exactly! to the plain brown wrapper on an ordinary day. That is when and how it happens. For one to feel the need to align so much (or so little ) with one meaningless date – in this case, the turn of a calendar year – is bizarre.. We can make choices, effect change, and be encouraged ANY day. πŸ™‚ And kudos to those who do and are.

  2. The only time we ever have is this moment. If it comes in a brown paper wrapper, I hope we can notice if it is tied up with string – one of my favorite things. (If you aren’t familiar with the song – the title is My Favorite Things. Happy Thursday!

    • Jeanette, thanks for the read and adding to the conversation. I have not seen brown paper packages tied up with string in forever but shnitzel is still delicious (more lyrics). Funny, I thought about the magazines in the plain brown wrappers that used to be mailed that way. Happy Thursday to you as well!

  3. Well done you being on Freshly Pressed what an honour. My award for you will pale in comparison sorry…
    I have awarded you the Best Moment Award should you choose to accept it πŸ™‚ It’s cool if you don’t. Have a wonderful New Year.
    I hope you have a wonderful New Year.
    I have awarded you the Sunshine Award – should you wish to accept it. I understand if you don’t. πŸ™‚
    http://suzjones.wordpress.com/2014/01/04/awards-awards-awards-again/

  4. I am such a goose, I have copied and pasted the wrong thing. I have awarded you the Best Moment Award but the Sunshine award is all yours too if you wish it πŸ™‚

    • I don’t see any images but I thank you. With awards, I add the image to my about page since I cannot host a sidebar on this background format.

      Some people love to answer the questions and some consider my using their name to be a form of chain letter. So I will offer my sincere thanks and try not to bother someone else who sees it differently.

      • All well and good πŸ™‚ You deserve both anyway. πŸ™‚

  5. Very very beautiful indeed ~

    • Thank you so very much. The understanding and kindness is greatly appreciated.

      • πŸ˜€ You sound like a lovely soul~

      • That is very kind of you to say. I am blessed to have been raised by wonderful parents who instilled strong values in us and taught us to always look outside of ourselves. One lesson often repeated, even today, is that the external is not an indication, but rather it is what is inside that counts.

      • πŸ˜‰

      • That means – it is noticeable πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you so very much, your comment really means a great deal to me.

  6. Thank you so very much Sue for your verbal support and encouraging others to read and share what I have said and similar viewpoints.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] Resolutions and her encouragement to us all to be better in 2014. Take a look at her post “Have a Very Encouraging New Year” and be […]

Leave a Reply

